Certified Professional in Patient Safety Review--Live Webinar

October 23, 2014 to January 31, 2015

This activity is designed to provide a patient safety review for all those committed to safer patient care, including patient safety, quality, and risk professionals.

PLEASE NOTE: Pharmacists

Duke Medicine designates this activity for a maximum of 6.0 ACPE credit hours. Please login to the ACPE website to self-claim your credits by providing the following Activity Numbers: 0851-0000-14-011-L05-P

Learning Objectives

  • List three components of a culture of safety.
  • Describe three ways that leaders can model safe behavior and safe practices.
  • Describe two mechanisms to report identified risks.
  • Discuss a data driven approach to improving patient safety.
  • Describe the use of an accountability model in managing behavioral choices and drift.
  • Discuss the role of external agencies in providing guidelines and setting regulatory requirements for patient safety.
  • Review, in depth, the six patient safety domains, following the exam content outline
  • Discuss patient safety scenario examples similar to actual exam questions
  • Assess my own level of preparedness for the exam and address additional areas for self-study
Course summary
Available credit: 
  • 6.50 Attendance
  • 0.65 CEU
  • 6.50 JA Credit
Registration Opens: 
10/20/2014
Registration Expires: 
01/31/2016
Activity Starts: 
10/23/2014 - 12:00am
Activity Ends: 
01/31/2015 - 12:00am
Online Webinar
United States

Course Faculty:

Dan Degnan, PharmD, MS, CPPS

Senior Project Manager

Center for Medication Safety Advancement

Purdue University College of Pharmacy

ddegnan@purdue.edu

Karen Frush, MD, CPPS

Chief Patient Safety Officer

Duke University Health System

karen.frush@duke.edu

Erin Graydon-Baker, MS, RRT, CPPS

Director of Risk Management and Patient Safety

Maine Medical Center

EGraydonBa@mmc.org

Regina Hoffman, RN, BSN, CPHRM, CPPS

Patient Safety Liaison

Pennsylvania Patient Safety Authority

reghoffman@pa.gov

NPSF Staff:

Patricia McGaffigan

Chief Operating Officer

Senior Vice President of Program Strategy

pmcgaffigan@npsf.org

Janine Carpenter

Assistant Vice President, Programs

jcarpenter@npsf.org

Donna Jenkins, RN, MS, CPPS

Patient Safety Staff Specialist

Edward P. Lawrence Center for Quality & Safety

Massachusetts General Hospital

dljenkins@partners.org

Karen Liptak, RN, BSN, MPA/HCA, CPHRM, CPPS

Vice President, Quality, Safety &

Performance Improvement

Parkland Hospital & Health System KAREN.LIPTAK@phhs.org

Judy Milne, MSN, RN, CPHQ, CPPS

Patient Safety Officer

Duke University Hospital

judy.milne@duke.edu

Dot Snow, MPH, CPPS, CPHM

Program Lead

National Resource Stewardship & Patient Safety

Kaiser Permanente

Dot.Snow@kp.org

Sarah Foy

Program Manager

sfoy@npsf.org

Elizabeth Clancy

Program Assistant

eclancy@npsf.org

Available Credit

  • 6.50 Attendance
  • 0.65 CEU
  • 6.50 JA Credit

Accreditation Period

Registration Opens: 
10/20/2014
Registration Expires: 
01/31/2016
Please login or register to take this course.